Studio Dan

Studio Dan

-

about the ensemble

Studio Dan was founded in 2005 as the large ensemble of the JazzWerkstatt Wien. Over time the group has undergone a metamorphosis, first into a more flexible instrumental ensemble and more recently into a multidisciplinary artistic production collective.

Studio Dan's vision far exceeds the mere performance of music: the group holds that artistic work can contribute meaningfully to the struggle against destructive capitalistic mechanisms and burgeoning nationalism. The ensembles develops educational formats, performs in public spaces, mounts challenging productions for young audiences and fosters networks reaching beyond the confines of the arts scene. The ensemble is particularly interested in artistic positions in conscious opposition to current trends in music and the arts. Studio Dan's membership has always been highly heterogenous, both in terms of the participants' artistic backgrounds and in terms of their age and gender.

For more than 15 years, the collective has commissioned works from composers, authors and dramatists from wildly diverse aesthetic fields: both from young artists such as Oxana Omelchuk, Karolina Preuschl, Eva-Maria Schaller, Christian F. Schiller, Matthias Kranebitter and Christof Ressi, and from more established names like George Lewis, Vinko Globokar, Elliott Sharp, Elisabeth Harnik and Friedrich Cerha.

Studio Dan has mounted co-productions with major institutions such as La Strada Graz, KinderKinder/Big Bang, Wien Modern and Dschungel Wien. Besides regular performances at Porgy & Bess and echoraum in Vienna, the ensemble has appeared at festivals including the Ostrava Days, the ORF musikprotokoll at steirischer herbst, and styriarte, as well as in venues including the Festspielhaus St. Pölten, Kulturfabrik Kampnagel in Hamburg, the Kimmel Center in Philadelphia and the legendary Roulette in Brooklyn, NYC. In 2020, the ensemble released its latest album, Breaking News, on the Swiss label Hat Hut Records.

Studio Dan's debut CD, Creatures & other stuff, received the German Record Critics' Award (shortlist); Planet Globokar was nominated for the YAM Award in 2017, and the New York Times chose its 2020 recording of George Lewis' "As We May Feel" – the first recording of the piece – as one of the year's 25 best classical music tracks.

Among other activities, the 2022/23 concert season is slated to include concerts at the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg.

2008 – 2020

In 2020 Studio Dan realized one of its biggest projects yet: For two weeks ZONK!?!! brought concerts, sound sculptures and a connected musical outreach program to Vienna’s 20th district. The spa concerts in the Franz-Novy-Hof (a so called “Gemeindebau” located in Vienna’s 16th district) featured concerts, workshops and interventions in its courtyard. The program of Selected Works II included five compositions; four of which were premieres. Die Strase/GIF-Frenzy presented two very different approaches of connecting film and live music with concerts in Graz and Vienna. Stockhausen’s piece Tierkreis was performed by the ensemble for the first time at the Styriarte Graz and the Arnold Schönberg Center in Vienna. The CD Breaking News (with compositions by Oxana Omelchuk and George Lewis) was released on the renowned Hat Hut label.

In 2019 we presented five new productions – four of which were presented in the Jeunesse Specials at Porgy & Bess (Vienna). Femenine with music by Julius Eastman (premiered at open music Graz); New York – Wien #3 (with music by Anthony Coleman) premiered at the Jazzfesival Saalfelden); Augmented Reality Series #1 is a production that includes 10 premieres and was presented at the musikprotokoll 2019; the project SOS 2019 features music by Daniel Riegler and texts by Karolina Preuschl. How is your bird? is a scenic music theater for children that premiered at La Strada Graz and at the MUSIKTHEATERTAGE WIEN. Further concerts Landeck, Dornbirn, Graz und Wien and performances in Posen/Pl, Bozen/IT, Ostrava/CZ.

In 2018, the ensemble was first continueing the programs Neapel (last time), Breaking News, Planet Globokar and their Tribute to Frank (Zappa). Studio Dan was performing at the Stadtgarten Köln, at the Festspielhaus St. Pölten, at the Kimmel Center in Philadelphia and at the Open Ears Festival Kitchener in Canada.
For the second time in June and July, the ensemble presented the self-curated concert series "More Creatures & Other New Stuff" with five concerts in the Viennese Porgy & Bess. The group was performing existing pieces of u.a. Ig Henneman, John Zorn or Pierre Jodlowski and commissioned works by Elisabeth Harnik, Viola Falb and Johannes Lauer. The young Carinthian composer Christof Ressi, the appointed Featured Composer 2018, was going to present several of his existing and new works. The collaboration with Leo Riegler was bringing film and live music to the program in October.
The final highlight of the year was the long-planned and longed-for premiere of the commissioned work "Passaggio Verso Il Rischio" by Vinko Globokar at Wien Modern.

2017 included the presentation of several programs in New York on an invitation from the Austrian Cultural Forum, as well as other concerts in Canada. On this tour, pieces by young European composers as Mirela Ivičević, Caitlin Smith, Christoph Walder and Daniel Riegler were presented next to new commissions by Oxana Omelchuk and George Lewis. HOHNOR, apremiere by Christian F. Schiller, was written for two harmonicas and ensemble. In the first half of 2017 the ensemble was paying tribute to Frank Zappa´s artistic universe and related music (Varèse, Stockhausen, Fred Frith, Christof Dienz...); In September the ensemble was for the first time working on a piece by Julius Eastman.

In 2016, Studio Dan brought our programs to several internationally-renowned stages. We performed our brand-new in-house production “Planet Globokar” at Wien Modern / Dschungel Wien, the Theater am Ortweinplatz! (Graz), and KinderKinder festival in Hamburg. As part of the musikprotokoll festival, our ensemble collaborated with the composers' collective die andere saite to perform new music in Graz, Austria and Ljubljana, Slovenia. For the first time, we produced a four-concert series in June at Porgy & Bess devoted to music by Anthony Braxton, George Lewis, Cornelius Cardew, George Crumb, and many others. In November, Studio Dan performed in concerts at kunsthaus mürz, at the Jazzfest Leibnitz, and at the Tagen für Neue Musik in Zurich.

2015 the ensemble celebrates its 10th anniversary with lots and different programs: HOMO FABER (4 concerts at the 21er Haus), “Studio Dan plays …” (5 children’s concerts in Hamburg, Vienna and Kapfenberg), the opening concert of the JazzWerkstatt Vienna ZOOM! Festival, “Eine Art Chansons” (Friedrich Cerha) at the Porgy & Bess etc.

2014 was marked by the 80th birthday of Vinko Globokar. The ensemble focused on his collection of improvisation models “Individuum Collectivum”. Vinko Globokar was part of one of the four evenings as guest and improvisor on trombone. The evening was broadcast by the ORF.

2013 saw the premiere of “Musik für 11”, a spatial-sound composition developed for the Arnulf Rainer Museum. In December, the CD “In The Pelagic Zone” was presented together with Elliott Sharp.

2012 the third album “Decadence” and the net art project www.dekadenz-cd.at were released. In the same year, Studio Dan premiered “Fanfare III” for 16 musicians distributed throughout the performance space, featuring soloist Michel Doneda.

2011 the ensemble received a grant from the Ernst-von-Siemens Music Foundation for their collaboration with Elliott Sharp.

2010 a second album followed, featuring singer Nika Zach and entitled “Things”; the CD release tour included a performance at JazzFest Berlin.

2009 the ensemble released its debut (double) CD, “Creatures & Other Stuff”, which subsequently won the German Record Critics’ Award.

In 2008 Studio Dan was chosen as the “stage band” for a six-month residency in the Vienna jazz club Porgy & Bess and became an integral part of the Austrian music scene.

Studio Dan

Studio Dan

-

Über das Ensemble

Studio Dan wurde 2005 als große Formation der JazzWerkstatt Wien gegründet. Nach der Wandlung zu einem flexiblen Instrumentalensemble, entwickelte sich die Gruppe zuletzt zu einer genreübergreifenden künstlerischen Produktionsgemeinschaft.

Studio Dan hat eine Vision, die über das Aufführen von Musik weit hinausgeht: Aus Überzeugung, dass künstlerische Arbeit einen wesentlichen Beitrag gegen destruktive kapitalistische Mechanismen und gegen aufflammenden Nationalismus bildet, bezieht die Gruppe Position. Es werden Bildungsformate entwickelt, öffentliche Orte bespielt, anspruchsvolle Produktionen für junges Publikum umgesetzt und Netzwerke weit über die Kunstszene hinaus gespannt. Das besondere Interesse der Gruppe gilt künstlerischen Positionen, die bewusst entgegen aktuelle Kunst- und Musikströmungen eingenommen werden. Studio Dan arbeitet seit jeher in heterogener Zusammensetzung, sowohl was die künstlerische Herkunft der Protagonist*innen betrifft wie auch alters- und geschlechterspezifisch.

Das Kollektiv vergibt seit über 15 Jahren Aufträge an Komponist*innen, Autor*innen und Dramaturg*innen, aus denkbar entgegengesetzten ästhetischen Feldern. Zu den Partner*innen zählen sowohl junge Künstler*innen wie Oxana Omelchuk, Karolina Preuschl, Eva-Maria Schaller, Christian F. Schiller, Matthias Kranebitter und Christof Ressi wie auch arrivierte Namen wie George Lewis, Vinko Globokar, Elliott Sharp, Elisabeth Harnik und Friedrich Cerha.

Studio Dan arbeitet als Koproduzent mit großen Institutionen wie u. a. La Strada Graz, KinderKinder/Big Bang, Wien Modern und dem Dschungel Wien. Neben regelmäßigen Auftritten im Porgy & Bess und echoraum Wien war das Ensemble bei Festivals wie den Ostrava Days, dem ORF musikprotokoll im steirischen herbst, der styriarte und in Häusern wie dem Festspielhaus St. Pölten, in der Kulturfabrik Kampnagel in Hamburg, dem Kimmel Center Philadelphia und im legendären Roulette in Brooklyn (New York) zu hören. 2020 erschien Breaking News beim Schweizer Label Hat Hut Records.

Die Debüt-CD Creatures & other stuff wurde mit dem Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (Bestenliste) ausgezeichnet; Planet Globokar war 2017 für den YAM Award nominiert; Studio Dans Ersteinspielung von George Lewis' As We May Feel wurde 2020 von der New York Times als einer der "25 Best Classical Music Tracks" ausgezeichnet.

Für die Saison 2022/23 sind u. a. Konzerte in der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg in Planung.

2008 – 2020

2020 war geprägt durch die Arbeit bis jetzt größten Projekt Studio Dans: ZONK!?!! bespielte zwei Wochen lang den 20. Wiender Gemeindebezirk mit Konzerten, Klangskulpturen und damit verbundener Musikvermittlung. Die Kurkonzerte im Franz-Novy-Hof (Wien, 16.) brachten für fünf Tage Konzerte, Workshops und Interventionen in den Wiener Gemeindebau. Selected Works II präsentierte fünf Kompositionen in einem Stream – vier davon Uraufführungen und Die Strase/GIF-Frenzy zeigte zwei grundlegend andere Ansätze der Verbindung von Film und Live-Musik (Konzerte in Graz und Wien). Mit Stockhausens Tierkreis war Studio Dan das erste Mal bei der Styriarte Graz und im Arnold Schönberg Center Wien zu Gast. Die CD Breaking News (mit Werken von Oxana Omelchuk und George Lewis) wurde auf dem renommierten Label Hat Hut veröffentlicht.

2019 stand ganz im Zeichen fünf neuer Produktionen wovon vier das Zentrum des Jeunesse Specials im Porgy & Bess bildeten. Dies sind die Projekte Fememine, mit Musik von Julius Eastman (EA bei open music Graz), New York – Wien #3, mit Musik von Anthony Coleman (UA beim Jazzfestival Saalfelden), Augmented Reality Series #1, mit 10 Uraufführungen (musikprotokoll 2019), das Projekt SOS 2019, mit Musik von Daniel Riegler und Texten von Karolina Preuschl, sowie die Kindertheaterproduktion How is your bird? als Uraufführung bei La Strada Graz und bei den MUSIKTHEATERTAGEN WIEN. Weitere Auftritte in Landeck, Dornbirn, Graz und Wien und Gastspiele in Posen/Pl, Bozen/IT, Ostrava/CZ.

2018 brachte das Ensemble zunächst die Fortsetzung der Programme Neapel (letztes Mal), Breaking News, Planet Globokar und Tribute to Frank. Studio Dan gastierte dazu im Stadtgarten Köln, im Festspielhaus St. Pölten, im Kimmel Center in Philadalphia und beim Open Ears Festival Kitchener in Kanada.
Im Juni und Juli präsentierte das Ensemble zum zweiten Mal die selbst kuratierte Konzertreihe „More Creatures & Other New Stuff“ mit fünf Konzerten im Wiener Porgy & Bess. Zu hören waren bestehende Stücke von u.a. Ig Henneman, John Zorn oder Pierre Jodlowski und Auftragswerke von Elisabeth Harnik, Viola Falb und Johannes Lauer. Eine Werkschau gab es über die Musik des jungen Kärntners Christof Ressi, dem Featured Composer 2018. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Leo Riegler brachte im Oktober Film und Live-Musik auf den Spielplan.
Als abschließendes Highlight des Jahres ging die lang geplante und ersehnte Premiere des Auftragswerks „Passaggio Verso Il Rischio“ von Vinko Globokar bei Wien Modern über die Bühne.

2017 hat Studio Dan auf Einladung des ACF New York mehrere Programme ebenda und in Kanada präsentiert. Mit im Gepäck waren sowohl Stücke junger KomponistInnen (Johannes Kreidler, Mirela Ivičević, Caitlin Smith, Christian F. Schiller, Christoph Walder, Daniel Riegler) als auch Auftragswerke von Oxana Omelchuk, George Lewis und die Uraufführung von HOHNOR für zwei Mundharmonikas und Ensemble von Christian F. Schiller. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstlerkollektiv Krüger&Pardeller wurde im Rahmen dieser Tournee der neueste Studio Dan Tonträger veröffentlicht.Die Doppel CD enthält das Hörspiel zur Schau des 21er Haus HOMO FABER aus dem Jahr 2014/15. Darüber hinaus die gleichnamige Konzertversion von Daniel Riegler.
Im ersten Halbjahr widmete sich das Ensemble in zwei verschiedenen Programmen dem künstlerischen Kosmos Frank Zappas und angrenzender Musik (Varèse, Stockhausen, Fred Frith, Christof Dienz...). Im September erarbeitete das Ensemble erstmals ein Stück von Julius Eastman.

2016 trat das Ensemble mit neuen Programmen im Rahmen einiger international sehr renommierter Festivals auf. Dazu gehörte die Präsentation der Eigenproduktion „Planet Globokar” bei Wien Modern / Dschungel Wien, dem Theater am Ortweinplatz! (Graz) und KinderKinder Hamburg. In Kooperation mit dem Grazer Komponistenkollektiv die andere saite wurde neue Musik im Rahmen des musikprotokolls Graz aufgeführt. In einer vierteiligen, selbst kuratierten Konzertserie im Porgy & Bess widmete sich das Ensemble Musik von Anthony Braxton, Cornelius Cardew, George Crumb, Steve Reich und anderen. Im November folgten Konzerte im kunsthaus mürz, beim Jazzfest Leibnitz und bei den Tagen für Neue Musik in Zürich.

2015 feierte das Ensemble sein 10-jähriges Bestehen und spielte dabei zum ersten Mal mehr als 20 Konzerte im In- und Ausland. Als Teil einer Installation wurde die Musik HOMO FABER (D. Riegler) fünf Mal im 21er Haus aufgeführt. Gemeinsam mit Agnes Heginger wurden alle 72 Chansons von Friedrich Cerha aufgenommen und auf der CD „Eine letzte Art Chansons“ präsentiert.

2014 stand im Zeichen des 80. Geburtstags von Vinko Globokar. Das Ensemble widmete sich gemeinsam mit Gästen an vier Abenden seiner Modellsammlung „Individuum – Collectivum“. Vinko Globokar war dabei selbst als Improvisator dabei. Der Abend wurde vom ORF mitgeschnitten und gesendet.

2013 gelangte „Musik für 11“ zur Uraufführung, eine für das Arnulf-Rainer-Museum entwickelte Raumklangkomposition. Im Dezember wurde die CD „In The Pelagic Zone“ gemeinsam mit Elliott Sharp präsentiert.

2012 wurde das dritte Album „Dekadenz“ und das damit verbundene Netzkunstprojekt www.dekadenz-cd.at veröffentlicht und in Kollaboration mit Michel Doneda das abendfüllende Werk „Fanfare III“ uraufgeführt.

2011 erhielt das Ensemble eine Unterstützung von der Ernst-von-Siemens-Musikstiftung für die Zusammenarbeit mit dem New Yorker Gitarristen und Saxophonisten Elliott Sharp.

2010 präsentierte die Gruppe in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sängerin Nika Zach bereits ihr zweites Album mit dem Namen „Things“ unter anderem auf dem Jazzfest Berlin.

2009 wurde die Debüt-CD „Creatures & other stuff“ mit dem prominenten Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik ausgezeichnet.

2008 war das Kollektiv die Stage Band des Wiener Porgy & Bess und fungierte damit 6 Monate lang als „Ensemble in Residence“ des wichtigsten österreichischen Jazzclubs.