Studio Dan

Breaking News

-

Studio Dan is ready to launch

Komprovisation © Ditz Fejer

Continuing the first tour through Canada and the USA in December 2017, Studio Dan presents first performances and new commissioned works in Cologne and Vienna.
The program consists of a mixture of compositions by female composers from the Viennese scene (Mirela Ivičević, Caitlin Smith) as well as other young European composers. One of the works to be heard is a commissioned work by the Belarussian, now Cologne-based composer Oxana Omelchuk. Her "wow and flutter" for two solo trombones features Cologne trombonist Matthias Muche and Studio Dan founder Daniel Riegler plus Ensemble. This was first premiered at the musikprotokoll of steirischer herbst and will be part of Omelchuks portrait CD of the “Deutscher Musikrat” on the renowned WERGO label.
Johannes Kreiler´s piece “Charts Music” was composed with the help of stock market and trading charts.
Another important part of the evening is the work of John Zorn and George Lewis. The giants of New York's creative music scene, who literally set the tone, have long radiated far beyond the American metropolis, and have also influenced the development of Studio Dan with their music. Both instrumentalists and improvisers of the special class will–no less important–appear as composers on this evening. Zorn's "Ceremonial Magic" for violin and percussion contrasts a through-composed violin part with a completely free improvised percussion part.
Lewis' "As We May Feel" was also commissioned by the ensemble for the concert at the musikprotokoll in Graz. It marks, according to a statement by the composer, along with other recent pieces, a new phase in his compositional work, which he has been paying his undivided attention recently.

Programm:
Mirela Ivičević (*1980) : The F SonG
Johannes Kreidler (*1980) : Charts Music
Caitlin Smith (*1983) : wie schön ist es zu leben, ÖEA
Oxana Omelchuk (*1975) : Wow and Flutter, 2017
George Lewis (*1952) : As We May Feel, 2017
John Zorn (*1953) : Ceremonial Magic

Downloads:
New Vienna in New York
Anthony Braxton Composition No. 229, 131
Homo Faber

Studio Dan

Breaking News

-

Experimental Music and Sound Art

Komprovisation © Ditz Fejer

Als quasi Fortsetzung der ersten Tournee durch Kanada und die USA im Dezember 2017 präsentiert Studio Dan Erstaufführungen und neue Auftragswerke in Köln und Wien.
Das Programm besteht aus einer Mischung von Kompositionen aufstrebender österreichischer Komponistinnen der Wiener Szene (Mirela Ivičević, Caitlin Smith) sowie von anderen jungen europäischen KomponistInnen. Zu hören sind unter anderem ein Auftragswerk der in Köln lebenden und aus Weißrussland stammenden Komponistin Oxana Omelchuk oder auch Johannes Kreidlers Konzeptstück Charts Music, das mit Hilfe von Börsen- und Trading-Charts komponiert wurde. Omelchuks „wow and flutter“ für zwei Solo-Posaunen mit dem Kölner Posaunisten Matthias Muche und Studio Dan Gründer Daniel Riegler plus Ensemble wurde beim musikprotokoll des steirischen herbst uraufgeführt und wird Teil ihrer Portrait CD beim renommierten WERGO Label.
Einen weiteren wichtigen Teil des Abends nehmen die Werke von John Zorn und George Lewis ein. Die im wahrsten Sinne tonangebenden Giganten der New Yorker kreativen Musikszene strahlen schon seit langem weit über die amerikanische Metropole hinaus, und haben mit ihrer Musik auch die Entwicklung von Studio Dan geprägt. Beide Instrumentalisten und Improvisatoren der Sonderklasse treten an diesem Abend als nicht weniger gewichtige Komponisten in Erscheinung. Zorns „Ceremonial Magic“ für Violine und Schlagzeug stellt einen durchkomponierten Violinpart einem vollkommen frei improvisierten Schlagzeugpart gegenüber.
Lewis´ „As We May Feel“ ist ebenfalls ein Auftragswerk des Ensembles für das Konzert beim musikprotokoll in Graz. Es markiert, nach einer Aussage des Komponisten, gemeinsam mit anderen kürzlich entstandenen Stücken eine neue Phase in seinem kompositorischen Schaffen, dem er seit einiger Zeit seine ungeteilte Aufmerksamkeit schenkt.

Programm:
Mirela Ivičević (*1980) : The F SonG
Johannes Kreidler (*1980) : Charts Music
Caitlin Smith (*1983) : wie schön ist es zu leben, ÖEA
Oxana Omelchuk (*1975) : Wow and Flutter, 2017
George Lewis (*1952) : As We May Feel, 2017
John Zorn (*1953) : Ceremonial Magic

Downloads:
New Vienna in New York
Anthony Braxton Composition No. 229, 131
Homo Faber