Studio Dan

How is your bird?

-

For anarchists young and old

pokod

Following Zappa’s motto ‘Anything Anytime Anywhere for No Reason at All (AAAFNRAA)’, How is Your Bird? will celebrate itself as art and, in so doing, give us back a piece of our dignity.

Studio Dan comes from “Studio Tan”, and that comes from Frank Zappa. Time after time it’s Zappa – and this time it’s for kids, too! With a mixture of music, puppet show and object theater, live comic strip and radio play, we zap ourselves (in the truest sense of the word) through the life of an artist. To borrow a phrase from Monty Python: it’s Studio Dan’s “Life of Frank”.

However, this scenic music theater production for children is not just about the mere narration of a specific artist's biography, but rather about the phenomenon of the artistic initiation of a young person per se. How does an artistic thought develop out of childish curiosity and imagination? What are the requirements of creative work? Why does someone start to get excited about the unusual? The production is history and guidance, encouragmenent and initial at the same time.

The musical program is opulent and peppered with works from all conceivable music epochs and genres. Just as we know it from Zappa´s oeuvre - a constant, often imperceptible change between so-called serious music and entertainment music.

Composers: Frank Zappa, Edgar Varèse, Igor Strawinsky, Béla Bartók, Anton von Webern, Eric Dolphy und Huun-Huur-Tu and many more.

Line-up: Cl/Sx, Tbn, Pf/Synth, Bass, Perc, Drums, Stage, Light, Sound, Puppet Show/Animation, Performance

Upcoming Events:
30 July 2019
La Strada Graz
-
31 July 2019
La Strada Graz
The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue et al.

Studio Dan

How is your bird?

-

Zappa für kleine und große Anarchos

pokod

Frei nach Zappas Motto, Anything Anytime Anywhere For No Reason At All (AAAFNRAA), wird How is your bird? sich selbst feiern und der Welt ein Stückchen Würde zurückgeben.

Studio Dan kommt von Studio Tan, und dieser Titel stammt wiederum von Frank Zappa. Immer wieder FZ also, und diesmal auch für Kinder. Mit einer Mischung aus Musik-, Puppen- und Objekttheater, Live-Comic Strip und Hörspiel zappen wir uns im wahrsten Sinne durch ein Künstlerleben. Studio Dan´s Life of Frank, um es mit Monty Python zu sagen.

In dieser szenischen Musiktheaterproduktion für Kinder geht es jedoch nicht nur um die bloße Erzählung einer spezifischen Künstlerbiografie, sondern vielmehr um das Phänomen der künstlerischen Initiation eines jungen Menschen per se. Wie entwickelt sich aus kindlicher Neugier und Phantasie ein künstlerischer Gedanke? Welche Voraussetzungen braucht kreatives Schaffen? Warum beginnt sich jemand für das Ungewöhnliche zu begeistern? Die Produktion ist Geschichte und Anleitung, Mutmacher und Initial zugleich.

Das musikalische Programm ist opulent und gespickt mit Werken aus allen erdenklichen Musikepochen und -stilen. So wie wir es eben auch vom Zappaschen Œuvre kennen – einem andauernden, oft unmerklichen Wechsel zwischen sogenannter ernster Musik (E) und Unterhaltungsmusik (U).

Komponisten: Frank Zappa, Edgar Varèse, Igor Strawinsky, Béla Bartók, Anton von Webern, Eric Dolphy und Huun-Huur-Tu uvm.

Besetzung: Kl/Sax, Pos, Pf/Synth, Bass, Perk, Schlgzg, Bühne, Licht, Ton, Puppenspiel/Animation, Performance

Aktuelle Termine:
30. Juli 2019
La Strada Graz
-
31. Juli 2019
La Strada Graz
The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue et al.