Studio Dan

Die Strase / GIF Frenzy

-

Image & music, music & image – two positions

Die Strase Helmut Neuber

Christof Ressi and Leo Riegler represent a kind of resurrecting form of the universal artist who sees himself as a composer, performer, improviser, programmer, dramaturge, conceptual artist and, in both cases, a visual artist. The two works shown – Die Strase (L. Riegler) and GIF Frenzy (C. Ressi) – pursue a fundamentally different approach to combining film and live music, and are therefore particularly suited to each other.

1. Set – GIF Frenzy
GIF Frenzy refers to the social media practice of illustrating emotional states using short excerpts from movies or television in GIF format. The criteria for the selection of the respective GIFs as well as their presentation and editing change during the course of the piece and show different aspects in the relationship between sound and image. Clichéd ways of connecting the two media encounter "inappropriate" or absurd combinations; Exaggeration and excess are virtually challenged by the particular interactive nature of the piece.

2. Set – Die Strase – A bizarre / poetic grotesque
A puppet film by Leo Riegler with live accompaniment by Studio Dan. With horse love, Hulk Hogan, and the longest sausage in the world, as well as Anita the Cat Lady, black holes, hands, and feet. With contributions from show business legends both famous and obscure, including Karolina Preuschl, Kristin Gruber, Raphael Meinhart, Andreas Harrer, Simon Brugner, and Leo Riegler. #FreeJazzIsNoPicnic. OMG!

Line-up:
Sophia Goidinger-Koch – Violin
Gunde Jäch Micko – Violin
Martina Engel – Viola
Maiken Beer – Violoncello
Daniel Riegler – Trombone
Mathias Koch/Hubert Bründlmayer – Drums
Christof Ressi/Leo Riegler – Elektronics

Upcoming Events:
2nd Set only, "Die Strase"
11 July 2019 | 19:00
Universität der Künste Berlin
GIF Frenzy - Teaser
Die Strase - Teaser

Studio Dan

Die Strase / GIF Frenzy

-

Bild und Musik, Musik und Bild – zwei Positionen

Die Strase Helmut Neuber

Christof Ressi und Leo Riegler repräsentieren eine Art wiederaufkommende Form des Universalkünstlers, der sich als Komponist, Interpret, Improvisator, Programmierer, Dramaturg, Konzept- und – in beiden Fällen auch – visueller Künstler versteht. Die beiden gezeigten Arbeiten Die Strase (L. Riegler) und GIF Frenzy (C. Ressi) verfolgen einen grundlegend anderen Ansatz der Verbindung von Film und Live-Musik und passen daher besonders gut zueinander.

1. Set – GIF Frenzy
GIF Frenzy bezieht sich auf die in den sozialen Medien häufig anzutreffende Praxis, emotionale Zustände mithilfe kurzer Ausschnitte aus Filmen oder Fernsehen im GIF-Format zu illustrieren. Die Kriterien für die Auswahl der jeweiligen GIFs sowie deren Präsentation und Bearbeitung verändern sich im Laufe des Stückes und zeigen verschiedene Aspekte im Verhältnis zwischen Klang und Bild. Klischeehafte Arten der Verbindung der beiden Medien treffen auf “unangemessene” oder abwegige Kombinationen; Übertreibung und Exzess werden durch die besondere interaktive Natur des Stückes geradezu herausgefordert.

2. Set – Die Strase – Eine bizarr-poetische Groteske
Ein Puppenfilm von Leo Riegler, live vertont von Studio Dan. Mit Pferdeliebe, Hulk Hogan und der längsten Wurst der Welt. Dazu Katzen-Anita, schwarze Löcher, Hände und Beine. Unter Beteiligung bekannter und unbekannter Größen des Showbusiness: Karolina Preuschl, Kristin Gruber, Raphael Meinhart, Andreas Harrer, Simon Brugner und Leo Riegler. #FreeJazzIstKeinPonyhof. OMG!

Besetzung:
Sophia Goidinger-Koch – Violine
Gunde Jäch Micko – Violine
Martina Engel – Viola
Maiken Beer – Violoncello
Daniel Riegler – Posaune
Mathias Koch/Hubert Bründlmayer – Schlagzeug
Christof Ressi/Leo Riegler – Elektronik

Aktuelle Termine:
11. Juli 2019 | 19:00
Universität der Künste Berlin
GIF Frenzy - Teaser
Die Strase - Teaser