Studio Dan

A Tribute to Frank Zappa

-

Music ist THE BEST

Derschmiidt_Zappa © Eckhard Derschmidt

“Information is not knowledge.
Knowledge is not wisdom.
Wisdom is not truth.
Truth is not beauty.
Beauty is not love.
Love is not music.
Music is THE BEST.”
-Frank Zappa

Studio Dan was founded in 2005 in Vienna. The name of the ensemble was derived from Studio Tan, a Frank Zappa album recorded in 1978. This way, zappaesque elements were firmly embedded in the formation´s DNA. Nevertheless, it took a few years before the ensemble dedicated itself to the opulent oeuvre of the American icon. Since 2008, Studio Dan has been working on several programs and has performed them repeatedly at the Zappanale in Bad Doberan, Germany, the Mecca of the worldwide Zappa community. Further performances at the Porgy & Bess in Vienna and at the La Strada festival in Graz, Austria followed.

A tribute to Frank Zappa
has now evolved into far more than a show consisting of Zappa´s work. Rather, the ensemble strives to define its own approach to his music, as well as to create musical references. And talking about Zappa, who included personalities such as Pierre Boulez or Jimmy Hendrix among his friends, these references range from the so-called Western classical music as well as in the realm of rock, jazz or doo-wop.
Thus, the setlist contains mainly music by the celebrated composer, as well as music by Fred Frith, Edgard Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen and members of the band. Finally, a title of The Turtles may not be missing. As a special feature of the evening Studio Dan performs the Improvised Concerto for Bicycle, Prerecorded Tape and Instrumental Ensemble. This was presented by the 23-year-old Frank Zappa in a legendary appearance in the Steve Allen Show in 1963.

KomponistInnen: Frank Zappa, Edgard Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Fred Frith, Daniel Riegler, Christof Dienz and others

Line-Up: vl, va, vc, fl, sax/cl, bn, tp/fh, tbn, pn/key, ebass/db, elec, perc, dr

Upcoming Events:
1 June 2018 | 18:00
The Registry Theatre, Kitchener, ON
-
1 June 2018 | 14:00
The Registry Theatre, Kitchener, ON
-
2 June 2018 | 20:00
Kimmel Center, Philadelphia
-
3 June 2018 | 14:00
Kimmel Center, Philadelphia
Peaches en Regalia live @ Zappanale
Inca Roads live @ Zappanale 2013
Tribute to Frank Zappa

Studio Dan

Music is THE BEST

-

A Tribute to Frank Zappa

Derschmiidt_Zappa © Eckhard Derschmidt

“Information is not knowledge.
Knowledge is not wisdom.
Wisdom is not truth.
Truth is not beauty.
Beauty is not love.
Love is not music.
Music is THE BEST.”
-Frank Zappa

Studio Dan wurde 2005 in Wien gegründet. Der Name des Ensemble leitet sich von dem von Frank Zappa im Jahr 1978 aufgenommenen Album Studio Tan ab. Damit war schon zu Beginn die zappaesque DNA fest in die Formation eingeschrieben. Trotzdem dauerte es einige Jahre bis das Ensemble sich in mehreren Programmen dem opulenten Oeuvre der amerikanischen Ikone widmete. Seit 2008 arbeitet Studio Dan nun an diesen Programmen und hat sie mehrmals bei der Zappanale in Bad Doberan, im Mekka der weltweiten Zappa-Community aufgeführt. Weitere Aufführungen im Porgy & Bess in Wien und bei La Strada in Graz folgten.

A Tribute to Frank Zappa hat sich nun zu weit mehr als einem Programm mit Zappas Werken entwickelt. Vielmehr bemüht sich das Ensemble sowohl einen eigenen Zugang zu seiner Musik zu definieren, als auch musikalische Bezüge herzustellen. Und diese reichen bei Zappa, der sowohl Persönlichkeiten wie Pierre Boulez oder Jimmy Hendrix zu seinen Mitstreitern zählte, in die sogenannte E-Musik als auch in Gefilde von Rock, Jazz oder Doo-Wop.
Damit findet sich in der Setlist vorwiegend Musik des gefeierten Komponisten, dazu Musik von Fred Frith, Edgard Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen und Mitgliedern der Band. Zum Schluss darf ein Titel von The Turtles nicht fehlen. Als Besonderheit des Abends führt Studio Dan das Improvised Concerto for Bicycle, Prerecorded Tape, and Instrumental Ensemble auf.Dieses präsentierte der 23 Jahre alte Frank Zappa 1963 in einem legendär gewordenen Auftritt in der Steve Allen Show.

Composers: Frank Zappa, Edgard Varèse, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Fred Frith, Daniel Riegler, Christof Dienz u.a.

Line-Up: Vl, Vla, Vc, Fl, Sax/Kl, Fg, Tp/Fh, Pos, Klav/Keys, E-B/KB, Elec, Perk, Schlgzg

Music is the BEST
The Eric Dolphy Memorial Barbecue et al.
Peaches en Regalia live @ Zappanale
Inca Roads live @ Zappanale 2013
Tribute to Frank Zappa